The Old Man and the Sea book review

“The Old Man and the Sea” By Ernest Hemingway  pages 155

For this weeks book review I chose an old favorite of mine in The Old Man and the Sea. The book tells the tale of an old fisherman from the Bahamas named Santiago, and his adventure that would change his life. Santiago had been struggling to catch fish to feed himself and make any money. He had gone 85 days without catching anything. His luck was so bad that even his young friend named Manolin was not allowed to fish with him anymore because his parents forbid him from fishing with such an unlucky fisherman. Overall the story that unfolds after Santiago makes his way very far out into the ocean to see if he can change his luck is something I was not expecting on bit the first time I read this book. But you’re going to have to read it (or just look it up) to see what happens from there because I’m not going to spoil it.

” Every day is a new day. It is better to be lucky. But I would rather be exact. THen when luck comes you are ready”

To me this book tells a very unique tale of human strength and willpower. Its not often that I read a book more than once but I have read this book several times now and I never get tired of it. In my opinion its one of the more well written books out there. Hemingway really thought of a wild experience to write about and the whole time makes you feel as if you’re right there with Santiago.  This is definitely a book that I would recommend to anyone to read. I feel as if most people would appreciate the story being told because its about one of the most unlikely of humans accomplishing something that no one would ever expect. I feel like it could inspire people in ways and help them possibly overcome something in their life that’s causing them difficulty. Hemingway in my opinion really out did himself on this great book. hemingway_hamminkway_old_man_and_the_sea

words 324

Leave a Reply

